2021 Children's Ski Development Program

The Programme is conducted over the four periods of the June/July school holidays if there are enough children involved in each period to form at least one squad of six children. In the past, there have usually been enough children in each week to form either two or three squads, one of higher standard and one of slower standard (and an intermediate standard - numbers permitting).

The Programme is not a “learn to ski” Programme and it is not a “racing Programme”. Rather, it is a Development Programme designed to:

  1. Build children’s skiing skills to a standard at which they may ski confidently and safely on Thredbo's intermediate runs;

  2. Foster club spirit amongst the children through skiing with other TAC children who are staying in the lodge during the week;

  3. Introduce members' children into the sport of skiing i.e. racing, in keeping with the club’s obligations under its constitution. Therefore, there will be some instruction in racing through gates, so the children may confidently participate in the club race in each period and (where applicable) the interclub race at the end of period three.

To participate in the TAC Children’s Ski Development Programme, your child must have progressed beyond the beginner stage. They should have achieved level 5 (blue+) in Thredboland on Friday Flat and at a minimum, be able to ski in the Merritts area.

Children who are deemed by the instructors to be too slow to keep up with the slower squad after grading, should be enrolled in Thredboland until they have reached the level required to join the TAC Development programme. TAC does not pay for instruction or lessons outside the Ski Programme, and it is parents’ responsibility to organise instruction in Thredboland until their children are skilled enough to join the TAC Programme.

The Thredbo Children’s Interclub race will be held on Monday 5th July at the end of period three. Period three children are selected to race for TAC based upon previous race results, however all TAC children are welcome to participate in the Interclub Race should they be in Thredbo on that day.

Period 1

Arrive Friday 18 June or Saturday 19 June. Organise ski equipment and lift tickets by Saturday.

9.30 am Sunday 20 June at Friday Flat: grading by instructors into 2 or 3 compatible squads, followed by instruction for the squads until 12.30 pm.

9.30 am to 12.30 pm Monday 21 June to Wednesday 23 June inclusive: Instruction. Club race 11.30 am Wednesday.

Period 2

Arrive Thursday 24 June. Organise ski equipment and lift tickets by Friday.

9.30 am Friday 25 June at Friday Flat: Grading followed by instruction as per period 1.

9.30 am to 12.30 pm Saturday 26 June to Monday 28 June inclusive: Instruction. Club race 11.30 am Monday.

 

Period 3

Arrive Wednesday 30 June. Organise ski equipment and lift tickets by Wednesday.

9.30 am Thursday 1 July at Friday Flat: Grading followed by instruction as per period 1.

9.30 am to 12.30 pm Friday 2 July to Sunday 4 July inclusive: Instruction. Club race 11.30 am Sunday.

 

Period 4

Arrive Tuesday 6 July. Organise ski equipment and lift tickets by Tuesday.

9.30 am Wednesday 7 July at Friday Flat: Grading followed by instruction as per period 1.

9.30 am to 12.30 pm Thursday 8 July to Saturday 10 July inclusive: instruction. Club race 11.30 am Saturday.